UK Community Renewal Fund

The UK Community Renewal Fund will provide £220 million additional funding to help places across the UK prepare for the introduction of the UK Shared Prosperity Fund. This Fund aims to support people and communities most in need across the UK to pilot programmes and new approaches and will invest in skills, community and place, local business, and supporting people into employment.

The UK Government has designated 100 areas as ‘Priority Places’. The list of priority places and lead authorities can be found here.

A lead authority has been assigned for each place. These are:

  • Mayoral Combined Authorities, where they exist in England
  • The Greater London Authority
  • County Councils
  • Unitary authorities elsewhere in England and in Scotland and Wales

Lead authorities should invite project proposals from a range of local applicants, including local district councils, voluntary and community sector organisations and local education providers including universities. Lead authorities should then appraise these projects and produce a shortlist of projects up to a maximum of £3 million per place for submission to UK government. 

Read the full prospectus here
UK Community Renewal Fund: webinar slides
UK Community Renewal Fund: frequently asked questions
Tony Wilson, Director, IES: Slides

Watch the Briefing for the Employment Support Sector: The Community Renewal Fund ERSA hosted on 27 April here

The Institute for Employment Studies have put out an evaluation offer for the Community Renewal Fund, you can read more and find out how to get in touch directly here. 

The following lead organisations have put out calls for applications, click the links for full opportunity.  

West Midlands Combined Authority

Greater Manchester Combined Authority

West Yorkshire Combined Authority

North of Tyne Combined Authority

Anglesey County Council 

Gateshead Council 

Liverpool City Region

North Lincolnshire Council 

Neath Port Talbot Council

Somerset County Council

Cornwall Council 

Glasgow City Council 

North Yorkshire County Council

Nottingham County Council

Durham County Council

Kent County Council

Cumbria County Council

Carmarthenshire Council

Staffordshire County Council

Southlanarkshire Council 

Surrey County Council

Worcestershire County Council

Herefordshire Council 

Thurrock Council

Barrow Borough Council

If you are a lead authority or have information to add to this page, please email the ERSA Team at [email protected]

Document Tag